Home Forums GT TEFL Certification Course What we teach when we teach English

Viewing 5 reply threads
  • Author
      Leon
      Keymaster
      Membership Points: 10,644 MP
      TrainerGallery Teachers RepresentativeGT Membership

Try to remember the time when you studied a foreign language at school. What did you study exactly?

valich
      Participant
      Membership Points: 2,870 MP

When I studied a foreign language at school, I studied mostly grammar, reading, writing and speaking. Less attention was paid to listening. We did listening tests once or twice a month.

irynaroubel
        Participant
        Membership Points: 2,150 MP

It’s a pity that there were not enough opportunities for you to develop listening skills.

gabi
      Participant
      Membership Points: 635 MP

I’m wondering if there was also a focus on functions (functional language) when you studied a foreign language? And how was phonology taught- as integrated skills or rather as a separate skill?

valentinakarpeiko
      Participant
      Membership Points: 2,460 MP

I studied grammar, reading and speaking.There wasn’t any attention to pronounciation.

irynaroubel
        Participant

We had the same situation, I suppose.

irynaroubel
      Participant

When I studied English, we mostly paid attention to grammar. We didn’t do much listening and didn’t focus on pronunciation either.

gabi
        Participant

Many foreign language learners often complain about listening skills being undervalued by their teachers; this is the same for pronunciation. I wonder if this is perhaps because teachers often don’t quite understand what it is that they can teach when they teach listening skills?

• This reply was modified 2 days, 23 hours ago by gabi.
      gabi
      Participant